Medical Minute: Rapper Missy Elliott is battling Grave’s Disease…

23 Jun

Lot of people have been wondering where Missy “Misdemeanor” Elliott had gone including myself? After releasing some lackluster singles and no album many were left wondering had she retired. Well it seems the Award winning Producer/Songwriter/Rapper/Singer has been battling Grave’s Disease.

Missy tells People magazine that the disease, which effects the thyroid, that her symptoms came on so quickly that is intensely effected basic functions like writing and driving:

“I was (driving and) trying to put my foot on the brake, but my leg was jumping. I couldn’t keep the brake down and almost crashed… I couldn’t write because my nervous system was so bad – I couldn’t even use a pen.”

She says that she also experienced hair loss and mood swings, and turned to radiation therapy to improve her condition.

“I’m 30 pounds lighter because I’ve been exercising. My thyroid is functioning, so I haven’t had to take medication in about nine months. (But) you live with it for the rest of your life.”

____________________

My prayers are with Missy. I sure have missed her and I anticipate her return to the hip hop scene..

For more info about Graves Disease hit up the following link >>> ‘GRAVE’S DISEASE’

Source

Leave a Reply

