Hail Thee Queen: Beyoncé Covers ‘Complex’ Magazine [Pix Inside]

19 Jul

I love magazine covers especially when my favorite celebs are on them. I know I go hard for Bey and believe me there was a time I didn’t. Not that she wasn’t beautiful but I always rooted for the underdog (Kelly & Letoya were my favs). So now in a world without a Michael Jackson touching lives and taking over the world we have Mrs. Carter aka Queen Bey. She’s everywhere and there just isn’t any stopping her. Beyoncé is front and center for Complex Mag’s August/Sept cover which is dubbed their ‘Style & Design” issue.

Check out some commentary and pix below from the Complex issue which goes on sale August 9th!

On the direction of ‘4’

“Figuring out a way to get R&B back on the radio is challenging,” she explains. “Everything sounds the same on the radio. With 4 I tried to mix R&B from the ’70s and the ’90s with rock ‘n’ roll and a lot of horns to create something new and exciting. I wanted musical changes, bridges, vibrata, live instrumentation, and classic songwriting.”

On Frank Ocean

“Jay had a CD playing in the car one Sunday when we were driving to Brooklyn,” she recalls of hearing Frank Ocean for the first time. “I noticed his tone, his arrangements, and his storytelling. I immediately reached out to him—literally the next morning. I asked him to fly to New York and work on my record.”

On her Old Man Jay

“Jay’s music is more than music. His lyrics have fathered generations,” she says of her husband of three years. “All that he has overcome gives millions so much hope. There are moments when I see his lips moving and I can see lyrics floating above his head and I think, ‘Wow! How did I get so lucky to be able to witness this level of genius so closely?’”

On Other Girls Coming for Her Crown

“There is room on this earth for many queens,”  “I have an authentic, God-given talent, drive, and longevity that will always separate me from everyone else. I’ve been fortunate to accomplish things that the younger generation of queens dream of accomplishing. I have no desire for anyone else’s throne. I am very comfortable in the throne I’ve been building for the past 15 years.”

To read more about the issue and to view more pics check out the feature on Complex and pick up the issue August 9th!

Leave a Reply

