ANNE HATHAWAY AS CATWOMAN? I’M NOT BUYING SO LETS TAKE A WALK DOWN MEMORY LANE..

5 Aug

I’m always excited when a new Batman flick is in the making and even more elated when I hear who the villains are going to be. I’ve always been a Marvel kid but I made an exception with Batman because he was apart of the DC family. Growing up as a kid I went to the movies for every Batman flick and none of them impressed me more than Batman Returns and it was then that I fell in love with Selina Kyle aka Catwoman played by Michelle Pfeiffer.

I would also watch Nick At Nite , that’s when all the cartoons went off the air and they showed old black and white sitcoms as well as the ones in color. One of my favorites were Mr.Ed, Leave It To Beaver and the Original Batman series. During that time Catwoman was portrayed by two actresses Julie Newmar and Eartha Kitt. Over the years the series both tv and movie have been revamped and through the years the storylines and characters change some good and others horrible.

We all have our picks as to who want in certain roles but it’s up to the powers that be that makes those decisions. So when I heard they were casting Anne Hathaway as Catwoman It didn’t bother me in the least and I would hope she would do it justice despite the disaster Halle Berry had done.. that was until they released what she would look like and I completely put on a  BBM sad face. Remember us nerds and comic book buffs recognize real.

Let’s take a look down memory lane at the many different pretty pictures of the Feline Fatale…

Nothing beats an original. No matter how you slice and dice it, the 1st to do it will always lay claim to the throne. Julie Newmar brought the sexiness all while being  dangerous and captivating often winning over the mesmerized Batman. Julie Newmar was the blueprint to the character and no one has been able to duplicate it since. She will always be a step ahead of the rest and a icon to the series.

If there was anyone who brought the fierceness out of the character it was Eartha Kitt. She boarded the role in the sitcoms 3rd season and became legendary for it up until the day she died. I think Halle Berry’s induction into the role was intended to pay homage to Kitt, but didn’t live up to expectations. Eartha Kitt will be always be #2 in my favorites to play the role.

The Baddest to ever do it in my opinion. She was the Catwoman who was sinister, sexy and psychotic. Michelle Pfeiffer really dove into the role and nobody has touched her since. I wish she could have been featured in the other Tim Burton films but sadly Poison Ivy was the comical replacement. Michelle will always be my favorite hands down.

I was excited before the movie came and very disappointed after viewing. From the storyline to the costume everything was wrong. I love Halle Berry but not every role she plays is destined to be talked about. I’m thankful that let her into the club. Hopefully Eartha revoked Halle’s membership card.

I can’t quite say how this will all pan out but apparently they wanted an entire new look for Anne Hathaway as Catwoman this go round. Time will tell if fans will love or throw tomato’s at the screen. Make no mistake Bizzy Blanco will be all over all things Batman as the new movie rolls into theaters next year..

Images by Google

One Response to “ANNE HATHAWAY AS CATWOMAN? I’M NOT BUYING SO LETS TAKE A WALK DOWN MEMORY LANE..”

  1. Shann Kocsis March 1, 2012 at 12:54 pm #

    You forgot about Lee Meriweather as Catwoman. I believe she played Catwoman in the 1966 Batman movie and was on the tv series a few times. Additionally, Lets not count out Hathaway yet. With this newest revival of Batman, Nolan has done an amazing casting job, who saw Heath Ledger as Joker? Liam Neeson as Ra’s al Ghul? Cillian Murphy as Scarecrow? I can go on and on, Each actor Nolan has cast hit the character on the nose…

Leave a Reply

