ALBUM REVIEW: AMY WINEHOUSE – ‘LIONESS: HIDDEN TREASURES’

7 Dec

Wow I should be shot or worse stoned for not knowing Amy Winehouse’s final body of work was released on yesterday. Thanks to my other musical affiliates that put me up on game.  I can’t say it enough: I truly stan for her music. It saddens my heart she is no longer here but I’m sure her music as I’ve stated before will live on through generations. Her Posthumous album Lioness: Hidden Treasures features old and new music along with original recordings of past album favorites. Amy recreates her own magic as she reworks a few classics…..

Listening to Hidden Treasures makes me wanna close my eyes and envision myself in a sweet New York loft over looking the city on a cloudy mist filled rainy afternoon. I especially get that feeling when I listen to ‘Body and Soul’ featuring Tony Bennett to whom Amy created a video for.  God’s son Nas returns and jumps on ‘Like Smoke’… I said return because  Nas was the object of Amy’s affection on Me and Mr. Jones on Back 2 Black…..according to Nas..

This album combines the very best of Amy and you can bask in some of her original recordings of Tears Dry On Their Own and Wake Up Alone.  Amy also does justice to The Girl From Ipanema, Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow by 50’s girl group The Shirelles, and Valerie a version Amy originally recorded with Mark Ronson back on 07 (remember Bruno Mars performing this on the MTV Music Awards this year).

While it could come off as a unfinished album of timeless classics over the years, it however satisfies my soul much like when I listened to ‘Frank’ and ‘Back 2 Black’ for the very 1st time.

While I anticipated more I’m thoroughly happy in the way the final musical jewel was presented.

Amy Winehouse ‘Lioness: Hidden Treasures’ in stores and on iTunes now!

 

Leave a Reply

