Monica Performs At Honda Battle Of The Bands + My Competition Experience [Pix and Video Inside]

30 Jan

So I decided in the midst of a career upgrade and my car getting sick I’d take a little vacation and fly down to the A (That’s Atlanta for you slow people). I was down here partial for a getaway and to attend one of the biggest band competitions in the land. Some of the baddest bands from neighboring HBCU‘s traveled near and far to the peach state this past weekend to show why their school goes hard. It was exciting for me because I’ve never been to huge band competition like this before and since I’m a lowkey band geek I took the opprotunity to experience it in person.

The entire event took place inside the Georgia Dome which is home to the Atlanta Falcons and in my opinion a state of the art facility nonetheless.

Continue reading for my complete breakdown and performance photo’s

Eight bands represented some of the most prestigious historically black colleges including Virginia State University (whom I represent to the fullest), Prairie View A&M, Jackson State, Tennessee State, Bethune-Cookman, Albany State, Winston-Salem, and South Carolina State. The start of the Battle paid homage to hazing victim and FAMU band student Robert Champion which I considered in good taste.

The evening consisted all 8 bands in attendance showing off their skills with some added props and celebrity fanfare. Lenny Williams joined South Carolina State for his signature song ‘Cause I Love You’

Monica sung a few of her hits both old and new after thanking the ATL crowd who have supported her career throughout the years. Ludacris and T.I. were also in attendance showing support to Monica as well as taking in the band competition.

Overall I had a wonderful experience and all 8 bands represented very well. My stand out would have to be Bethune-Cookman who gave a traditional band performance.

Check out the band photo’s below and Monica’s half time performance..

Monica’s Half-Time Performance

 

photo’s via HondaBattleOfTheBand/Twitter/video source MrMonicaSoul

Leave a Reply

