Youth Athletic President Suspended For Calling Whitney Houston The ‘N-Word’ On Facebook

25 Feb

John Kelly gave a whole new meaning to the phrase ‘What’s on your mind’ when Kelly, the president of a youth baseball league updated his status on Facebook with the following message:

“I’m so sick of reading about this dumb stupid N – – – – – Whitney Houston.”

Whoa! Continue reading below and find out who blew the whistle on the Coaches unfavorable Facebook etiquette.

According to the Chicago Suntimes— John Kelly was suspended Monday as president of a youth baseball organization after using the “n”-word in a posting about the death of singer Whitney Houston on his Facebook page.

John Kelly said Wednesday that his life has been “ruined” by the repercussions from the posting. He said he’s not a racist and did not realize he had posted the word. His comment was reposted to the Westside Baseball of Oak Lawn Facebook page.

His Facebook post read, in part, “I’m so sick of reading about this dumb stupid N – – – – – Whitney Houston.”

“I didn’t even realize I put it in until after I sent it,” he said.

Kelly said his Facebook page is restricted to adult friends and family, but a former player’s mother saw his comment and reposted it on her Facebook page and on the league’s page.

The woman, who asked not to be identified, said she reposted Kelly’s remark so other parents would know about it. “If this is the way he talks, what is he thinking when he has a black kid in the field?” she said. Kelly said he apologized to her last week.

Kelly said he suggested that he attend sensitivity training classes. But he said it still will be difficult to change the perception that he is a racist. “I don’t need this drama in my life. It’s going to affect me hugely, and my business,” said Kelly, a self-employed tradesman. He said his children will be exposed to taunts that he’s a racist.

Kelly will continue as a member of the league’s board, but he is banned from coaching for one year. Acting President Jim Hebel said the board struggled with how to handle the situation. “He’s wrong. He knows it. He apologized,” Hebel said. “How you deal with it is up for debate.”

Kelly added Wednesday that Houston shouldn’t be a role model for kids and that he especially resented New Jersey Gov. Chris Christie’s order to lower flags to half-staff at state buildings on the day of Houston’s funeral.

“I do stand behind everything I said except the ‘n’-word. I regret using that adjective,” he said. “Does that make me a racist? Are you kidding me? It was the farthest thing from my mind. I have some amazing friends who are black.”

__

I have some amazing friends who are black? WTF? Is that the phrase that pays once you get pushed into a wall when your race card is pulled for being a bigot?

This also sheds light on the people you decide to befriend on your Social Networking sites. Not everyone has your best interest and believe me not everything you post is gonna tickle each of your followers and friends funny bone. People have taken Facebook and Twitter to another level and now are being held accountable for the things that get posted. I have a habit of posting funny ghetto pictures which I probably need to ease up on. I don’t know who is related to who and how posting something as simple as a picture can be offensive to someone’s life or self esteem.

Do you believe justice was served?  Does his comment about not flying flags at half-staff for Whitney further solidify his racial demeanor? Could you mistakenly use the N-Word and not mean it?

Leave a Reply

